Skip to content
September 30, 2014 / AdamWritesPoems

Regwets

There are tears, of course there are tears,
but a death isn’t really tragic after so many years,
so we should be celebrating your wonderful life:
your nine children and committed wife,
your family that seems to grow by the day,
who will all miss you now you’ve gone away.
But as I sit here, my eyes are wet,
not with sadness, but tears of regret;
for not spending enough time with you when I could,
not enjoying your garden or the hunts for firewood,
being the distant relative even when I lived near,
and a virtual stranger since moving down here,
for thinking of visiting you as a chore,
not making the effort to see you more.
But we don’t know what we’ve got ‘til it’s gone,
and now one of the good guys has passed on,
so I need to say, as I try not to cry,
“I’m sorry, Paddy. Goodbye”

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Dan Q / Jan 13 2017 2:46 pm

    You know who I haven’t heard from online for a while? You, that’s who. Time for another poem?

Leave a Reply

